Question: What Is The Statute Of Limitations On Wisconsin Sex Crimes?

Answer: In the state of Wisconsin, there are various time periods during which the State can charge a person with felony sexual assault. Some felony sexual assaults have no limitations. Others have 15-year limitations and others still have shorter limitations. For a misdemeanor, they can charge a person for up to 3 years afterwards. And the big exception that swallows those rules is if a person claims to have been assaulted when they were under the age of 18, that charge can be brought until they turn 45. In other words, if a person says they were assaulted at age 5, they can charge the person they are accusing 40 years later.